Dr. Duane Flannagan

As of July 1, 2018, Dr. Flannagan has retired from the practice.  Dr. Judy Englert will continue care for all of Dr. Flannagan's patients.


Dr. Duane Flannagan attended Indiana University where he graduated with his bachelor’s degree in 1972.  To further his studies, he attended Indiana University School of Medicine where he obtained his medical degree and was inducted into the medical honorary society of Alpha Omega Alpha.  In 1976 he completed his internship with Baylor University Medical Center.  He finished his education at the University of Texas Health Science Center where his specialized in ophthalmology.  

In 1979, Dr. Flannagan returned to Jasper, IN and started his own practice.  He performs cataract surgery, muscle surgery, tear duct surgery, eyelid surgery and lasers.  In addition, he sees patients for eye diseases as well as routine exams. He sees patients in Jasper on Monday and Friday.  He has a satellite office in Washington where he sees patients two Wednesdays a month. He currently performs surgery at Memorial Hospital in Jasper, IN on Thursdays and two Tuesdays a month at Daviess Community Hospital in Washington, IN.  

Dr. Flannagan and his wife Jane have four children and seven grandchildren.  They enjoy traveling and spending time with family and friends.  In his free time, Dr. Flannagan enjoys being outdoors hunting, fishing, and playing golf.

Hospital Appointments:

Memorial Hospital and Healthcare Center
Perry County Memorial Hospital
Daviess County Hospital

Board Qualifications:

Indiana State Medical License
Diplomatic, American Board of Ophthalmology

Societies, Organizations, and Committees:

Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honorary Society
Dubois County Medical Society
American Academy of Ophthalmology
Indiana Academy of Ophthalmology
Indiana State Medical Association
American Medical Association
American Society of Cataract/Refractive Surgery
Jasper Chamber of Commerce


Member of IAO Board of Directors 1985-1995
Chairman of Peer Review Committee IAO 1988-1994
Elected Ophthalmologist –of – the- Year 1993